Categories
Wildflower

Is it Tormentil or Cinquefoil?

A while ago I posted some pictures of what I thought were Cinquefoil but now I’m not so sure. These two plants are very similar. The main difference being that Cinquefoil flowers usually have 5 petals and Tormentil has four. So today I found lots of four petalled flowers which I think must be Tormentil, except that there were some five petalled flowers among them. Otherwise they have the same trailing habit through the grass and the same leaves. So I think I’ll call this one Tormentil.

Tormentil
Tormentil
Tormentil? This five petalled flower was growing among all the four petalled flowers. About 10% of the flowers I saw were like this.

By oomhead

Painter, smallholder, writer and illustrator of children's books, comic fan, amateur astronomer. Retired computer programmer. Check out my wildflower blog and Webcomic.

Leave a comment